Pembroke residents win scholarships

  • Clockwise from top left: Daquae Davies, Hailey Wade, Nyree Burgess, Ayalah Doars (Photographs supplied)

    Clockwise from top left: Daquae Davies, Hailey Wade, Nyree Burgess, Ayalah Doars (Photographs supplied)

The Pembroke Parish Council recently presented four Pembroke residents with tuition funding towards their studies at Bermuda College.

Nyree Burgess# received a full tuition scholarship of $6,000 from the Council and is enrolled in the Associates of Science (Nursing) programme at the College. Three others, Daquae Davies (Associate in Science), Ayala Doars (Associate in Science), and Hailey Wade (Associate in Business) will receive awards of $1500 each (see photos attached in order shown).

This year was the first year the Council expanded the age range to 24 years and invited both public and private school graduates to apply. “Education is one of the best investments we can make in our community,” Council Chair, Patricka Ferguson noted. “Pembroke Parish is a microcosm of the larger community in its diversity. Those selected collectively represent first generation College attendees, advocates, overcomers, and those simply needing the opportunity of an open door. They are all hard workers, committed to their community, and scholastically diligent. We are very pleased to honour them, and we look forward to them working with the Council throughout the tenure of their awards.

For more information on the scholarship awards, please contact, Ms. Deanna Deshield at

Press release from Pembroke Parish Council

You must be registered or signed-in to post comment or to vote.

Published Sep 15, 2020 at 2:50 pm (Updated Sep 15, 2020 at 2:50 pm)

Pembroke residents win scholarships

What you
Need to
1. For a smooth experience with our commenting system we recommend that you use Internet Explorer 10 or higher, Firefox or Chrome Browsers. Additionally please clear both your browser's cache and cookies - How do I clear my cache and cookies?
2. Please respect the use of this community forum and its users.
3. Any poster that insults, threatens or verbally abuses another member, uses defamatory language, or deliberately disrupts discussions will be banned.
4. Users who violate the Terms of Service or any commenting rules will be banned.
5. Please stay on topic. "Trolling" to incite emotional responses and disrupt conversations will be deleted.
6. To understand further what is and isn't allowed and the actions we may take, please read our Terms of Service
7. To report breaches of the Terms of Service use the flag icon

  • Take Our Poll

    • "With Kathy Lynn Simmons becoming an MP, which Cabinet minister is likely to get the chop?"
    • Lt-Col David Burch (Public Works)
    • 8%
    • Lovitta Foggo (Community Affairs, Sport)
    • 16%
    • Wayne Furbert (Cabinet Office)
    • 38%
    • Jason Hayward (Labour)
    • 2%
    • Renee Ming (National Security)
    • 4%
    • Diallo Rabain (Education)
    • 9%
    • Neville Tyrrell (Transport)
    • 18%
    • Kim Wilson (Health)
    • 5%
    • Total Votes: 1463
    • Poll Archive

    Today's Obituaries

    eMoo Posts